Every standard Teamleader account can be accessed by two employees and can always be expanded to include more. Thus, you can collaborate with the whole team in one environment and in this way everyone is always kept up-to-date about all the changes. But how do you add such an employee now?


NOTE: this article explains how to add a new user. If you still have to buy extra users, please refer to this article first. To see how many user licences you still have left, consult this page in your Teamleader account (only accessible for administrators-.

Creating a new employee

The first important point: only administrators can create employees within Teamleader. If, for example, you have an HR manager who manages your employees, ensure that he or she also has administrator rights. For this you can always contact our our support.

To create an employee in Teamleader, navigate to Settings. In the submenu which appears below it, select ‘HR’. Click on the plus symbol, you will then get a new window where you can set all your new colleague’s data. That screen looks like this:


Let us run through all the data required.

• User name: the name with which your employee will log in. Note that this has to be completely unique. Using a combination of first and last name will mostly do the trick.
• Real name: the full name of your employee, first and surname, so that you can find him or her in the planning or to assign tasks or calls.
• Email: the email address at which the employee will receive his login details and other important e-mails.

At the bottom of the column you will also find the option to set a password for your new colleague. Of course, the person himself may change this as soon as he has logged into Teamleader for the first time.

These are the only mandatory fields which are necessary in order to create an account. In addition, you can fill in more details such as a mobile number, function, language, etc. What is perhaps more important are the modules to which your employee gains access. You can also set these here yourself by clicking on the sliders. There are three specific options which we would like to explain.

1. Limited access to CRM

This option ensures that your new employee only gains access to the contact details of companies of which he is the account manager himself and only sees contacts which he has created himself. Therefore, take care that you select the correct account manager when creating a company. Your employee does not see any independent contacts which he has not created himself, unless they are linked to a company for which he is responsible.

2. Limited deal access

Similarly to limited access to CRM, this option only permits your employee to see deals for which he himself is responsible. Other deals will not end up in his or her overview. This option cannot be enabled in combination with limited access to CRM owing to the fact that limited access to CRM implies limited deal access anyway: if your employee cannot see any contact or company, then of course he cannot see any related deal either.

3. Agenda access

You can also manage the calendar access of your new employee. You can thus determine whether he can only see his own planning, only that of all the members of the team to which he belongs, or all the agendas of all the Teamleader users directly.

When you have finished entering the details and determining the rights of your new employee, click ‘Save’ and your new colleague is added! If you set the password to be sent via e-mail, then he or she will receive the login details for the account at once.


Creating teams

If your company is growing, it follows that new people will also be added to the company. Each person often has his own specialty within an organization and therefore it may be useful to create teams within Teamleader. It helps you maintain an overview within the application and your employees can collaborate more efficiently.

A team is also created via Settings, under ‘HR’. New teams are easily created via the ‘Teams’ box. For example, this may involve team development, a sales team or a management team. Each team also has a ‘leader’. This is the person who receives messages and may manage leave.


You still have a few settings, including the management of leave. For a more detailed explanation of these, please refer to another blog. You can also enable or disable the messages for the leader from the team here.

If you had not created any teams before you added an employee, you can now specify a team when adjusting an employee. Click on the pencil next to the name of the employee whom you wish to assign to a team and select the desired ‘Team’. Good to know: an employee can only belong to one team.


Deactivating employees

If your company is growing, it is also inevitable that after a certain time there is some kind of turnover. While we do not welcome it, an employee may decide to open up new horizons or you may decide to end the collaboration.

Then naturally you would prefer him or her not to retain access to all the data within Teamleader. You can therefore easily deactivate an employee within your Teamleader account. A list of all your colleagues can be seen via the Employee menu under Settings. On the far right of each employee you can see the symbol of a trashcan. Click on this to get a pop-up screen. Here Teamleader asks you what you want to do with all the outstanding tasks, deals, calls etc. of this employee:

• You can opt to have each item sent to one of your current employees. Then, for example, they are assigned all the outstanding tasks or calls.

• If you opt to do nothing, then all the outstanding items are saved under the name of the employee whom you wish to deactivate until you decide to do something with them later.


Click on ‘Disable' and the account of this employee is cancelled. Now he can no longer log in and he will also no longer be visible in all the selection menus within Teamleader. The account of the deactivated person remains visible under ‘Inactive users’ in case you want to reactivate it later, however.


Another observation: for security reasons administrator accounts may only be deleted after their admin rights have been removed. If you want to do this, you must send us a written confirmation via support@teamleader.eu. After these rights have been deactivated, you can delete the account in the normal way.

This article was helpful for 27 people. Is this article helpful for you?