When creating a task in Teamleader you can assign it to yourself, a colleague, a team or to no one in particular. This last option of 'unassigned tasks' will be discussed here.
Unassigned tasks are especially convenient when you want to create some (general) tasks without having to decide already who will pick them up later. Later on, the assignee can be changed to a colleague or a team.
Access & dashboard
Everyone will have access to these unassigned tasks when navigating to the tasks menu, but they won't appear on anyone's dashboard since they aren't specifically assigned to someone.
When you navigate to Calendar > Tasks you'll find a smart segment here to easily guide you to the unassigned tasks:
It's also possible to include unassigned tasks in segments you create yourself.
Important is that unassigned tasks can’t be repeated. This because recurring tasks are immediately planned in the agenda and we can't do this without an assignee. First assign this task to a colleague to make it recurring.
Deleting a team
When deleting a team in Teamleader:
- The tasks that were still assigned to this team won't be deleted.
- These tasks won't be under anyone's responsibility anymore and will be 'Unassigned'.
As you might know, it's possible to create a project template if you often use the same structure for your projects. If you choose to include tasks per milestone in your template, you can keep these unassigned. This is especially useful when you have general milestones and general tasks and you want to assign them to your colleagues later, after the project has been created.